Damu The Fudgemunk - How It Should Sound Vol 1 & 2 Bundle (Clear & Green Vinyl 2xLP)

Record Label: Redefinition Records

“I just want to do hip-hop the way I hear it in my head.  It’s about a mood and what records I find: I love digging and finding things that I want people to hear.  That’s the beauty of this art form to me.   I have a bit of every great producer rolled into me and it’s their approach to manipulating drum breaks and samples that really opened up my ear. I really don’t consider my sound a throwback; I consider it a method of production, a distinct approach to making music.” 
- Damu The Fudgemunk

Redefinition Records is proud to present these timeless instrumentals from Washington D.C.’s finest, Damu The Fudgemunk.  Produced mostly between 2004 and 2007, "How It Should Sound" brings together archived material that as yet has only existed on floppy disks stacked in between an oft-frequented MPC and an ever-expanding library of vintage vinyl.   

Don’t get it twisted though: What you now have in your possession is far more than a collection of sketches. HISS represent a body of lovingly crafted material that bears all the hallmarks of Damu’s signature aesthetic.  Crunchy drums bolster intricately woven narratives of soul-infused samples in compositions that thump and groove all at the same time. Horns appear from nowhere before dissolving sumptuously into the mix.  Layers are steadily unveiled only to gradually fold back in on themselves.  

But hey, you knew that already, right? 
Welcome.  In case you hadn’t noticed, this is how it should sound.

1. Start Here
2. Another Introduction
3. Tea Thyme
4. Clap & Form Your Soul 
5. Figment
6. Home Seek Home
7. Straight From The Harp
8. Rock Climbing
9. Its Called The Chill Out 
10. Gone With The Sunset
11. Bills Be Gone
12. Only One Me 
13. Judgement Day
14. Dream Catcher 
15. How It Should Sound
16. You Know Who! 
17. Movin' On 
18. Not So Young Anymore  
19. Fabrega's Discotecas
20. Gestation 
21. Don't Fail Me Now 
22. Man With Bindle 
23. Hogs On The Hill
24. At Your Request
25. It Wasn't On Earth 
26. Boomerang Luck
27. BONUS - Start Here Instro

Related Releases