Madlib - Rock Konducta Part 1 (LP)

Record Label: Madlib Invazion

Madlib’s Rock Konducta – the first of two rock-inspired entries in the producer’s long-running Beat Konducta instrumental series.

Madlib announced his Rock Konducta album with a limited edition 45 made specifically for sale at the Zamrock Live! Madlib Medicine Show in San Francisco in ealry 2013. It was a fitting place to make the debut, as his previous Beat Konducta in Africa album was heavily inspired by Africa’s vibrant 70s rock scene, with a specific focus on Zambia’s Zamrock.

Rock Konducta – which will be presented in two LP volumes – is the fifth installment in Madlib’s Beat Konducta series. Previous entries include: Beat Konducta : Movie Scenes, Beat Konducta: in India, Beat Konducta: Dil Cosby and Dil Withers Suites and Beat Konducta in Africa.

Rock Konducta grabs its source material from various worldwide rock scenes from the 60s through the 80s, from American psychedelia to Germany’s krautrock to acid-soaked Spanish prog to synthy, early-80s oddities. Tied together by Madlib’s unique sensibility, these scenes coalesce into a new whole, and open the forum for the question: if these 26 tracks are his introduction, where will he lead with Vol. 2?

1 "Zucker"
2 "Rot"
3 "Motorik Matching"
4 "Far Faust"
5 "Knickers Turned"
6 "Gentle Pilz"
7 "Black Widow"
8 "Giant Okra"
9 "Ege Malesch"
10 "Soap Guillotine"
11 "Hallucination Amon"
12 "Siebenjäger"
13 "Mantara Guru"
14 "Düül Shop"
15 "Hold the Organ"
16 "Floh"
17 "Harmonia Inventions"
18 "Crimson"
19 "Agitation Musik"
20 "Yeti Movie"
21 "Anima"
22 "Derum Dig"
23 "Tarot Ash"
24 "Cluster Ghosts"
25 "Känguru Join"

Related Releases