Wake b/w Lawrence Grey - Oakland Blackouts b/w Claustrophilia (EP + Digital Download Card)
Free Gift

Record Label: Proximal Records

Add to wishlist

Wake - 'Oakland Blackouts'
"Oakland Blackouts started as a sort of afterthought. For a while, I had been interested in making a set of organic sounding electronic music that, while created using electronics, existed in an implied physical space. Most of the work that went into this EP focused on textural density, stereo and space manipulation, and subtle tuning of intensity through tempo and volume automation, which was a departure from my normal working process - a more hyper-edit based sequence programing composition workflow.

Unlike my other work, Oakland Blackouts was recorded in takes and played mostly live. Samples were mapped to MIDI controllers, and effects and automation were played in on faders. The synthesizers were largely (edited) live recordings made with hardware, including an analog modular synthesizer and a Yamaha FM synth from the 80s. The process behind this EP allowed freedom for improvisational compositional thought, and thus, (like a blackout) I barely remember making it."

Lawrence Grey - 'Claustrophilia'
Claustrophilia is a dance floor- oriented study in syncopation. The synthesizers, samples, tempos, and time signatures constantly evolve over the course of the five tracks. Though it can be enjoyed alone with a pair of headphones,it was designed it with a crowded, sweaty dance floor in mind.

A1 –Wake Bye Bye Baby
A2 –Wake My Mermaids
A3 –Wake Murder Party
A4 –Wake Oakland Blackouts
B1 –Lawrence Grey Clau
B2 –Lawrence Grey Stro
B3 –Lawrence Grey Phi
B4 –Lawrence Grey Li
B5 –Lawrence Grey A