Light In The Attic

Thomas de Hartmann - The Music of Gurdjieff / de Hartmann (5xLP - Boxset)

  • Official Record Store Day release
  • Limited to 1,000 copies
  • First ever vinyl reissue, includes 7 bonus pieces never before on vinyl
  • Audio restored and remastered from the original analog master tapes
  • New art featured on 5 deluxe Stoughton “tip-on” jackets and slipcase
  • Includes essay, archive photos and download card for MP3 of all 56 pieces
  • Features custom etching on final side

The music of Gurdjieff / de Hartmann is the result of an extraordinary collaboration between the Greek-Armenian spiritual teacher, G. I. Gurdjieff and Russian composer, Thomas de Hartmann. Gurdjieff traveled for twenty years in the Middle East and Central Asia to discover and develop the teaching which now bears his name. Meditative and mindful, Gurdjieff’s music stems from Eastern melodies and music he heard in remote monasteries.

From 1923 to 1929, Thomas de Hartmann worked closely with Gurdjieff at his Institute for the Harmonious Development of Man outside Paris, translating into European notation the music Gurdjieff composed from his travels. The original tapes containing these tracks were recorded in the 1950s under informal circumstances with rudimentary equipment, never intended to be heard by the public. As for the instrumentation, the performance is stripped down to nothing more than a single piano (played by de Hartmann) but lacks absolutely nothing; rather de Hartmann uses the negative space between notes to revel in resonance, in turn capturing remarkable depth and meaning.

Following the appearance of a track on LITA’s I Am The Center: Private Issue New Age In America 1950-1990, this material, out of print on vinyl for over three decades, could be considered the seeds that would eventually grow to become the roots of what we now think of as new age music. Jazz pianist Keith Jarrett, who recorded the album G. I. Gurdjieff: Sacred Hymns for the ECM label in 1980, is among the artists to interpret this music since, but the tracks presented in this five LP box-set are the only recordings available of de Hartmann himself playing the music he and Gurdjieff composed. Also included are seven additional recordings, never before available on vinyl, including a talk by de Hartmann about Gurdjieff’s view of the music.


  1.     Holy Affirming, Holy Denying, Holy Reconciling
  2.     The Resurrection of Christ
  3.     Prayer and Despair
  4.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 10
  5.     Hymn (January 2, 1927)
  6.     Reading from a Sacred Book
  7.     Sayyid Chant, No. 15
  8.     Hymn for Easter Thursday
  9.     Hymn to Our Endless Creator
  10.     Prayer, No. 2
  11.     Hymn from a Great Temple, No. 10 - Essene Hymn
  12.     Hymn from a Great Temple, No. 1
  13.     “Rejoice, Beelzebub!”
  14.     Bayaty
  15.     Kurd Melody from Isfahan
  16.     Meditation
  17.     “The Struggle of the Magicians” (Fragment No. 4)
  18.     Chant form a Holy Book
  19.     “The Struggle of the Magicians” (Fragment No. 5)
  20.     Katzapsky Song
  21.     Kurd Melody
  22.     “The Struggle of the Magicians” (Fragment No. 3)
  23.     The Bokharian Dervish, Hadji–Asvatz –Troov
  24.     Kurd Shepherd’s Dance
  25.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 42
  26.     Kurd Shepherd Melody
  27.     Caucasian Dance
  28.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 1
  29.     Persian Song
  30.     Hymn for Christmas Day, No. 2
  31.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 23
  32.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 9
  33.     Song of the Fisherwomen
  34.     Hindu Melody
  35.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 29
  36.     Hymn (February 14, 1926)
  37.     Hymn for Christmas Day, No. 1
  38.     Vespers Hymn
  39.     Sayyid Chant and Dance, No. 30
  40.     Sayyid Dance, No. 22 - For Mr. Gurdjieff’s Wife
  41.     Kurd Melody for Two Flutes
  42.     Assyrian Women Mourners
  43.     Easter Hymn and Procession in the Holy Night
  44.     Hymn for Easter Wednesday
  45.     Prayer and Procession
  46.     Song of the Molokans
  47.     Night Procession
  48.     Remarks by Thomas de Hartmann
  49.     Holy Affirming, Holy Denying, Holy Reconciling
  50.     Orthodox Hymn for a Midnight Service
  51.     Tibi Cantamus, No. 2
  52.     Alleluia
  53.     Laudamus…
  54.     Easter Hymn
  55.     Remembrance

Important information when ordering with

Order Processing Time

Online orders are processed within 1-2 business days or 3-5 business days depending on availability.

Order processing time is separate from shipping time requested. 


We try and offer as many upcoming projects available for pre-order when the releases have moved into production. However, due to the nature of manufacturing and production, pre-order dates may change. If your pre-ordered items are holding your package from arriving please email us with a request to ship the in-stock items and pre-orders when they become available. 

If your order contains pre-order items we will hold the package until all titles are available to ship. Please specify in the comments section of the checkout if you would like to:  a) hold your entire order until it can be entirely fulfilled or, b) have the in-stock items shipped immediately and the pre-ordered items ship when available. Please note that option B may require additional shipping charges as multiple packages will be shipped.

Out of Stock Items

Our stock rapidly changes and we try and set in place a system that avoids purchasing items that become out of stock. However, if a product ordered is out of stock or on back-order, we will reach out and give you the chance to change or cancel your order. If you choose to cancel, you will be refunded in full.

Return Policy

All sales are final. However, if the item ordered is different from the item you receive, please contact us and we can arrange to get you the desired product.