Coalmine Records

V/A - Beats, Mines and Life: An Instrumental Journey (Cassette)


To celebrate the many phenomenal instrumentals that have landed on our projects over the years, Coalmine Records is pleased to release of our first instrumental compilation, 'Beats, Mines and Life: An Instrumental Journey.'

The 14 tracks on here capture the brilliance of several of the producers we’ve worked with in recent years. These include numerous living legends who have carved out a massive niche in the game, including the likes of Nottz, Ayatollah, M-Phazes, and Khrysis. Also featured are the underground stalwarts like DJ Concept, Max I Million, J57, Small Professor, and Thelonious Martin, all of whom are cementing their place in the Hip-Hop world.

The 50 minute 'Journey' highlights both serious bangers and low-key headnodders alike. For the trunk-rattlers, we have joints like M-Phazes’ shimmering beat for Blu’s 2012 single, “Kiss The Sky,” in addition to his creeping “Midnight Madness” instrumental from Heltah Skeltah’s 2011 EP of the same name. Elsewhere, you’re bound to break your neck to Nottz’ “Atlantis” (off his 'Titans in the Flesh' EP with Blu), chill along to J57’s dusty “The Art of Sole” (off Aaron Rose’s 2016 EP, 'Elixir'), and feel the soul of Thelonious Martin’s “They Don’t Know” (off his 2017 released 'Molotov' LP with Saga).

Like many of our releases, 'Beats, Mines and Life' pays homage to the Hip-Hop greats who have come before us. Of course, the title is a callback to A Tribe Called Quest’s classic 1996 LP, 'Beats, Rhymes & Life,' and a tribute to the life and art of the late Phife Dawg.

'Beats, Mines and Life' is set to drop in time for Cassette Store Day 2017 (Sat, Oct. 14) in limited quantities. Pre-order your copy today!

Naturally Born - Big Noyd, Large Professor & Kool G Rap (prod. by Ayatollah)

Atlantis - Blu & Nottz (prod. by Nottz)

Dump in the Gut - Sean Price & M-Phazes (prod. by M-Phazes)

Get Down - Pharaohe Monch (prod. by M-Phazes)

The Art of Sole - Aaron Rose (prod. by J57)

Perfect Timing - C.L. Smooth (prod. by Max I Million)

Gold Chain Winners - Planet Asia & DJ Concept (prod. by DJ Concept)

John Gotti - Sean Price & Small Professor (prod. by Small Professor)

Show Stoppa - El Da Sensei (prod. by DJ Devastate)

Kiss the Sky - Blu (prod. by M-Phazes)

Easter - The Artifacts (prod. by Khrysis)

Midnight Madness - Heltah Skeltah (prod. by M-Phazes)

End of the World - Blu & Nottz (prod. by Nottz)

They Don’t Know - Saga & Thelonious Martin (prod. by Thelonious Martin)