Dave Grusin - The Friends Of Eddie Coyle: Original Soundtrack (LP)


Wewantsounds present the first ever vinyl release of Dave Grusin's cult funky original soundtrack for Peter Yates's superb crime film from 1973, The Friends Of Eddie Coyle. The music composed here is both funky and jazzy and on a par with Quincy Jones and Lalo Schifrin's best soundtracks of the early '70s. Peter Yates, who had directed Bullitt (1968), knew who to go for when it came to outstanding musicians, and Grusin was certainly one of the best young composers in Hollywood at the time. Grusin would sign another more famous score in 1975 with 3 Days Of The Condor, but the Eddie Coyle soundtrack recorded two years before is even more stunning. It plays like a hypnotic slow-burning suite and is performed by the cream of the LA jazz scene, including John Guerin, Chuck Rainey, Tom Scott, Bud Shank, and percussionist Emil Richards. Amazingly, the score never got released on vinyl when the film first came out in 1973, making this the soundtrack's first edition. Remastered from the original tapes, it includes one bonus alternate take. Includes a new essay by leading UK writer and musician David Toop. Housed in a beautiful gatefold sleeve, the release features a stunning cover by highly sought-after Alternative Movie Poster illustrator Oliver Barrett.

Theme From The Friends Of Eddie Coyle

Mr Connection

Guns To Artie/Artie Examines The Guns

Partridge Robbery/Take A Walk

Jackie Meets Pete And Andrea (Mr Connection)

Clean Cut

Baylis Robbery

Shopping Center (Mr Connection)

The Stakeout

Whalen Robbery

Eddie Is Hit

Friend's Requiem/End Title

Mr Connection (Alternate) (Bonus Track)