PRhyme (DJ Premier and Royce Da 5’9”) - PRhyme (CD)


When it comes to making great music, sometimes you have to take a leap of faith. Today’s 140-character absorbed music lover may not be used to the experience of sitting through an entire album, but that is about to change. The first full-length collaboration from Royce Da 5’9” and DJ Premier will be celebrated for its true Hip-Hop makeup and its overall purpose. This is one of the reasons they started making music in the first place, and this is why they formed the group PRhyme.

Individually, DJ Premier and Royce Da 5’9” have long been established in hip-hop culture. PRhyme is the first full-length record from the duo and is comprised of nine tracks featuring the likes of today’s most prolific artists in the industry, including Common, Jay Electronica, Killer Mike, Ab-Soul, ScHoolboy Q, Mac Miller and Dwele. Sprinkled with classic hip-hop elements, the album is refreshingly contemporary, featuring the slick spitting of Royce Da 5’9 and vivid cuts and scratched hooks that have long been DJ Premier’s calling card. With the entire album composed of samples courtesy of psychedelic soul composer and producer Adrian Younge (Jay-Z and Ghostface Killah), the record stands apart, sounding like nothing else in the hip hop market today.

With PRhyme, Royce Da 5’9 and DJ Premier raise the bar and present an unprecedented work of art, reminding listeners what hip-hop is supposed to sound like.


Dat Sound Good (f. Ab-Soul & Mac Miller)

U Looz

You Should Know (f. Dwele)


Wishin' (f. Common)

To Me, To You (f. Jay Electronica)

Underground Kings (f. Schoolboy Q & Killer Mike)

Microphone Preem (f. Slaughterhouse)