Nina Simone - Nina Simone: The Philips Years (7xLP)


The Phillips Years is a collection of seven albums released by Nina Simone during her tenure on the label. Simone’s albums covered topics as diverse as romance, politics, Broadway, civil rights and more. Albums included in this package are Nina Simone in Concert, Broadway-Blues- Ballads, I Put a Spell on You, Pastel Blues, Let It All Out, Wild is The Wind and High Priestess of Soul.

In 1964, Nina Simone embarked on new stage of her career. Her rejection by the Philadelphia-based Curtis Institute Of Music; time spent as a pianist in an Atlantic City nightclub; her jazz, gospel, pop and classical influences – all these had fused to make her one of the most complex, fascinating and talented artists of the decade. Simone released her debut album in 1958, but when she signed to Philips, in 1964, her creative output was about to dovetail with the Civil Rights movement – notably coinciding with the Civil Rights Act Of 1964, which outlawed discrimination based on race, colour, gender, religious affiliation or nationality.

It’s fitting, then, that the first album she released on Philips, 1964’s In Concert, captured some of Simone’s most committed Civil Rights-era material, including her explosive rendition of ‘Mississippi Goddam’. But this three-year period also saw her satisfy her relentlessly questing muse, with collections that focused on Broadway showtunes (Broadway-Blues-Ballads, 1964), pop material (I Put A Spell On You, 1965) and more, showing the full range of Simone’s talents.

On 15 July, these seven albums will be released in the gorgeous 7LP box set, The Philips Years. A celebration of Simone’s remarkable talents, the set contains many of the songs that Simone’s legacy is built upon – not only well-known cuts such as ‘I Put A Spell On You’ and ‘Feeling Good’, but also the likes of ‘Wild Is The Wind’, a song that David Bowie would memorably cover, and Simone’s version of ‘Strange Fruit’.

I Loves You Porgy

Plain Gold Ring

Pirate Jenny

Old Jim Crow

Don't Smoke In Bed

Go Limp

Mississippi Goddam

Don't Let Me Be Misunderstood

Night Song

The Laziest Gal In Town

Something Wonderful

Don't Take All Night


I am Blessed

Of This I'm Sure

See-Line Woman

Our Love (will See Us Through)

How Can I?

The Last Rose Of Summer

I Put A Spell On You

Tomorrow Is My Turn

Ne Me Quitte Pas

Marriage Is For Old Folks

July Tree

Gimme Some

Feeling Good

One September Day

Blues On Purpose

Beautiful Land

You've Got To Learn

Take Care Of Business

Be My Husband

Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out

End Of The Line

Trouble In Mind

Tell Me More And More And Then Some

Chilly Winds Don't Blow

Ain't No Use

Strange Fruit


Mood Indigo

The Other Woman

Important information when ordering with

Order Processing Time

Online orders are processed within *3-4 business days or *7-9 business days depending on availability.

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, our shipping and processing times have been extended. Please note, we are still shipping and attending to customer service inquiries as per usual. Delays in supply chain, shorter fulfillment schedules, as well as extended processing from USPS have forced these delays for the time being. Thank you for your patience and business as we navigate these difficult times!

Order processing time is separate from shipping time requested. 


We try and offer as many upcoming projects available for pre-order when the releases have moved into production. However, due to the nature of manufacturing and production, pre-order dates may change. If your pre-ordered items are holding your package from arriving please email us with a request to ship the in-stock items and pre-orders when they become available. 

If your order contains pre-order items we will hold the package until all titles are available to ship. Please specify in the comments section of the checkout if you would like to:  a) hold your entire order until it can be entirely fulfilled or, b) have the in-stock items shipped immediately and the pre-ordered items ship when available. Please note that option B may require additional shipping charges as multiple packages will be shipped.

Out of Stock Items

Our stock rapidly changes and we try and set in place a system that avoids purchasing items that become out of stock. However, if a product ordered is out of stock or on back-order, we will reach out and give you the chance to change or cancel your order. If you choose to cancel, you will be refunded in full.

Return Policy

All sales are final. However, if the item ordered is different from the item you receive, please contact us and we can arrange to get you the desired product.