Popcaan - Where We Come From (2xLP - Gatefold + Photobook)


Where We Come From is the debut album from Jamaican superstar Popcaan. Executive produced by Dre Skull and featuring productions from Dre Skull, Dubbel Dutch, Jamie Roberts, Anju Blaxx and Adde Instrumentals, Popcaan’s first full length offering sees his signature melodies and uplifting tones on thirteen original tracks. As musicologist Wayne Marshall writes in his essay on the album:

Where We Come From gives voice, as the best reggae does, to the contradictions of life in a society rife with inequities and yet so rich. Whether odes to the ghetto or the good life, Popcaan’s lyrics bring realist portraits and utopian visions into dynamic tension. Songs about struggle and sex and happiness occupy the same space because they do. And whatever the topic, Popcaan’s infectious positivity comes through.

The album Pitchfork called “one of the best pop albums of the year” was included in ‘Best of 2014’ lists by NPR, The Guardian, FACT, The Fader, Dazed, Complex, among others. After selling over 10,000 copies digitally, WWCF is now available in a deluxe gatefold vinyl edition which includes an exclusive photo booklet with musicologist Wayne Marshall’s essay on Popcaan and the album.

Hold On

Everything Nice

Number One Freak

Love Yuh Bad

The System

Hustle feat. Pusha T

Waiting So Long

Cool It

Ghetto (Tired of Crying)



Give Thanks

Where We Come From