Soul Jazz Records

V/A - Studio One: From the Vaults, Vol. 2 (2xLP + 12")



Studio One, the legendary Jamaican label that pioneered the reggae, ska and dancehall crazes and sparked the careers of Bob Marley, Alton Ellis, Jackie Mittoo and dozens of other reggae luminaries, have released thousands of essential reggae classics over its unrivaled six-decade long history. From the Vaults, Vol. 2 is a CD collection of Studio One rarities that are either entirely unreleased or unreleased on LP, featuring numerous Studio One heavy hitters like Dennis Brown, Freddie McGregor, Jennifer Lara and Johnny Osbourne. This is the second installment of Studio One's From The Vaults series. The first installment was released for Record Store Day Black Friday 2017 and reached #1 on the Billboard Reggae Chart, selling out on vinyl immediately.

The Record Store Day 2020 edition of the LP includes a bonus 12" of unreleased disco mixes from Sugar Minott, Jah Hugh and Al Walker.

1. Alf & Teep - Freedom, Justice, Equality
2. Jackie Bernard - Torture & Flames
3. Winston Prince - Mark I Word (Previously Unreleased)
4. Johnny Osbourne & Jennifer Lara - Zion Gate (Tk. 2) (Previously Unreleased)
5. Prince Tallis - Dog Ago Bite You (Tk. 5) (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
6. The Mediators - Give Me True Love (Stereo Mix)
7. Im and the Invaders - The Great Ball (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
8. Joseph Hill & the Soul Defenders - Behold (Tk. 3) (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
9. Dennis Brown - Macabee Version (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
10. The Three Tops - Down in the Bone Yard
11. The Soul Vendors - Dark Shade of Black (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
12. Lloyd Williams - I'm in Love with You (Original JA Mix)
13. Ken Boothe - Something You Got (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
14. Lloyd Charmers - Mr. Moses (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
15. Larry Marshall - I Need You Girl (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
16. Slim Smith - Happy Times (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
17. Larry & Alvin - Hush Up (Tk. 3) (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
18. Roy Richards - West of East Street (Tk. 3) (Previously Unreleased, Stereo Mix)
19. Prince Jazzbo - Jah Dip (Tk. 2) (Unreleased Stereo Mix)
20. The Silvertones - Down by the Shore (Unreleased 7" Version)

Bonus 12″ track listing (available with vinyl release only, not available on CD):
1. Sugar Minott & Jah Hugh – Come Along Girl / Downpressor
2. Al Walker & the Brentford All Stars – Chick Chick (Alternate Mix)

Important information when ordering with

Order Processing Time

Online orders are processed within *3-4 business days or *7-9 business days depending on availability.

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, our shipping and processing times have been extended. Please note, we are still shipping and attending to customer service inquiries as per usual. Delays in supply chain, shorter fulfillment schedules, as well as extended processing from USPS have forced these delays for the time being. Thank you for your patience and business as we navigate these difficult times!

Order processing time is separate from shipping time requested. 


We try and offer as many upcoming projects available for pre-order when the releases have moved into production. However, due to the nature of manufacturing and production, pre-order dates may change. If your pre-ordered items are holding your package from arriving please email us with a request to ship the in-stock items and pre-orders when they become available. 

If your order contains pre-order items we will hold the package until all titles are available to ship. Please specify in the comments section of the checkout if you would like to:  a) hold your entire order until it can be entirely fulfilled or, b) have the in-stock items shipped immediately and the pre-ordered items ship when available. Please note that option B may require additional shipping charges as multiple packages will be shipped.

Out of Stock Items

Our stock rapidly changes and we try and set in place a system that avoids purchasing items that become out of stock. However, if a product ordered is out of stock or on back-order, we will reach out and give you the chance to change or cancel your order. If you choose to cancel, you will be refunded in full.

Return Policy

All sales are final. However, if the item ordered is different from the item you receive, please contact us and we can arrange to get you the desired product.