D-Sisive - The Jonestown Collection (3xCassette)

Ships In 3-5 days

There was a time in Derek Christoff’s life when he didn’t have many words. It’s not that he didn’t have a story. But he was stuck on the start. In the late 90s, the young MC known as D-Sisive came up quickly in the Toronto hip-hop community with a string of well-liked singles, but his burgeoning profile was stopped cold with the illness and death of his father. Grief and depression stole his creativity and motivation for the better part of a decade, but in a moment fit for fable, his lyrical inspiration returned suddenly one day while singing along to the Beach Boys on the radio. It was the new start D-Sisive’s story needed. And he hasn’t stopped since.

2008’s The Book EP was nominated for a Juno and its single “Nobody With A Notepad” won the SOCAN ECHO Songwriting Prize. 2009’s Let the Children Die was longlisted for that year’s Polaris Music Prize (and would later get an elaborate send-off with a fullband live funeral after legal issues forced it out of production). The same year, he released Jonestown as a free download. Less than a year later, we got Vaudeville, and a year after that, the Jonestown sequel, Jonestown 2: Jimmy Go Bye Bye, back and forth between his story and others’. Along the way were a series of Hijacked singles, with D-Sisive rapping his own words over the music of such songs as Grizzly Bear’s “Two Weeks” and Sigur Ros’ “Festival,” an homage to just some of his comprehensive influences and tastes.

The D-Sisive - Jonestown Collection features all 3 Jonestown releases mastered for the cassette experience. The three red cassettes come packaged in a 3 tape unique packaged collection case. All units contain a tray card signed by D-Sisive.

In The Jungle

West Coast

One Way Ticket

Around The World (feat. Slim Twig)

Ken Park


Boom Baba Boom


They Got Guns (feat. Muneshine)

The Elephant Dance

The Truth Is...

One Way Ticket (moss:rmx)

It Was Quiet In Guyana

No More Words


Troy’s Bucket

Graffiti Wall

Morning In Barcelona

Russell Peters

Wannabe (feat. Pink Eyes of Fucked Up)

Rob Ford

Long Ago (feat. Muneshine)

Born To Die

The Gun (twenty ten)

Derek From Northcliffe

#1 Record (feat. Adam Bomb, cuts by Lil Jaz)


If I Live To See Tomorrow (SigurRos:Hijacked)

Bonus Track: Aeroplane (Extended Version)

The Dream Is Over

All My Friends Are Dead

Tell Me Different [ft. Adam Bomb]

Banana Bread [ft. Knamelis]


Pajama Pants

Friend Of Mine

Cincinnati Sunday

The Penny Tree [ft. The Antiheroes]

Not One Candle [ft. Muneshine]

Station 135


[un]Answered Prayers