Track List

nervous, sad, poor...

bleak, uncertain, beautiful

Godspeed You Black Emperor! - F# A# ∞ (LP + Inserts)
Free Gift

Record Label: Constellation

Add to wishlist

Includes inserts, handbill and, yes, the train-crushed penny.

F# A# ∞ is a spectacular testament to GYBE's awe-inspiring power, including "East Hastings" and the elegiac "Dead Flag Blues" and "Providence".

F# A# ∞ was recorded at the original Hotel2Tango in spring 1997 on a rented 16-track tape deck and supplemented with various field recordings. In the preceding year, the band had taken shape as a quasi-orchestral outfit involving most of the players that would go on to make three more records and tour the world many times.  This is the first recorded document of Godspeed as a large band and is soaring, fragile, awkward, heartbreaking stuff.

Three different front cover images (train, water tower, highway lights) are hand-glued on the front cover. Inserts include a penny crushed on Montreal railroad tracks, blueprint album graphic and notes, credit sheet and reproduction of an early GY!BE show handbill - all placed inside a plain manila envelope (original first run of 500 featured acetone transfers hand-printed on each envelope). Additional 8"x8" insert card of train locomotive image silkscreened in various colours on various recycled papers over the years.