High Pulp - Bad Juice (Digital)


High Pulp are an 8-piece band that emerged from the Royal Room, a legendary Seattle Jazz club where they held “Funk Church” jam sessions in 2017. Their signature sound is a Psychedelic fusion of Hip-Hop, Funk, Jazz, and Soul​ which come together with complex, well thought out arrangements and progressive style. After successful sessions and premieres with prestigious station ​KEXP​, and being at the forefront of the Seattle music scene, they’re now ready to branch out and take their sound worldwide.

Bad Juice kicks off with lush, soulful big band horns, as the triumphant and quite epic intro sets the tone for this truly unique multifaceted band. They really show off their skills in the first few minutes, showing off a range of styles from an uptempo ska-like jam to a downtempo sleazy Jazz-Rock groove.
The sublime and spacey ‘Dave’s’ is another standout cut. A stellar piece of high-grade musicianship, and the perfect relaxing tune to throw on after a hard day’s work.

Other tracks like ‘Smooth’ give Khruangbin a run for their money.
The beautifully versatile album, 8 tracks in length, now comes remastered on double vinyl LP with updated cover art. Originally released in 2018 as a small vinyl run, the project gets a much needed revamp. With 3 more releases planned through KingUnderground, the band is very much on its way to well-deserved, wider appeal.
Their high level of creativity and leftfield Cinematic Orchestra/Stereolab-esque arrangements meld perfectly with the inspiration of 60’s and 70’s Jazz, Soul, and Funk. It’s sprinkled with a new age touch in a concoction worthy of any lounge, Funk, or Dance DJ or discerning crate digger alike.

Track List

  1. Introducing
  2. Hookai
  3. Ezell's
  4. Fishbowl
  5. Dave's
  6. Smooth
  7. Impression
  8. Epilogue