Soul Jazz Records

Soul Jazz Records Presents - Kaleidoscope: New Spirits Known and Unknown: Deluxe Edition (3xLP + Bonus 7")

Ships In 3-4 Business Days

Indie-exclusive deluxe edition includes limited edition 7" single, and features extensive sleeve notes, artist interviews and exclusive photography.

Soul Jazz Records’ new album ‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ brings together many of the ground-breaking artists involved in the new jazz scene that has developed in the UK over the last few years. Featured artists include Matthew Halsall, Yazmin Lacey, Ill Considered, Tenderlonious, Theon Cross, Emma-Jean Thackray and many, many more in this ground-breaking release.

As well as sharing a pioneering spirit in these new artists’ approach to frontier-crossing musical boundaries, a further theme of this album is that many also share a determination to independent practices - and most of these artists’ recordings featured here are either self-published or released on independent labels. While the attention of this new wave of jazz artists has up until now has been London-based, this album shows how this movement is spread across the whole of Britain (and indeed beyond).

‘Kaleidoscope – New Spirits Known and Unknown’ shows that while there is commonality in these artists approach to music, there is a wide variety of styles – from deep spiritual jazz, electronic experimentalisation, punk-edged funk, uplifting modal righteousness, deep soulful vocals and much more.

Soul Jazz Records’ new release comes as a superb one-off pressing special deluxe triple album edition which comes with a bonus limited-edition one-off pressing 7" single. This album also comes with extensive sleevenotes, artist interviews and exclusive photography.

Track List

1. Matthew Halsall & The Gondwana Orchestra – When The World Was One
2. Yazmin Lacey – 90 Degrees
3. Hector Plimmer – Communication Control
4. Ill Considered – Long Way Home (Live At The Crypt)
5. The Expansions – Mosaic
6. Chip Wickham – Red Planet
7. Levitation Orchestra – Odyssey
8. Emma-Jean Thackray’s WALRUS – Walrus
9. Tenderlonious and The 22a Arkestra – The Shakedown
10. Pokus – Pokus One
11. Theon Cross – Candace Of Meroe
12. Joe Armon-Jones & Maxwell Owin
featuring Nubya Garcia – Tanner's Tango
13. Collocutor – Gozo
14. Makaya McCraven – Untitled
15. Nat Birchall – Ancient World
16. Ruby Rushton – Moonlight Woman
17. Ebi Soda – Dimmsdale
18. The Cromagnon Band – Thunder Perfect (5.12)
19. SEED Ensemble – Mirrors
20. Ishmael Ensemble – Kito's Theme
21. Vels Trio – Yellow Ochre (Part 1)

Important information when ordering with

Order Processing Time

Online orders are processed within *3-4 business days or *7-9 business days depending on availability.

Due to the current COVID-19 pandemic, our shipping and processing times have been extended. Please note, we are still shipping and attending to customer service inquiries as per usual. Delays in supply chain, shorter fulfillment schedules, as well as extended processing from USPS have forced these delays for the time being. Thank you for your patience and business as we navigate these difficult times!

Order processing time is separate from shipping time requested. 


We try and offer as many upcoming projects available for pre-order when the releases have moved into production. However, due to the nature of manufacturing and production, pre-order dates may change. If your pre-ordered items are holding your package from arriving please email us with a request to ship the in-stock items and pre-orders when they become available. 

If your order contains pre-order items we will hold the package until all titles are available to ship. Please specify in the comments section of the checkout if you would like to:  a) hold your entire order until it can be entirely fulfilled or, b) have the in-stock items shipped immediately and the pre-ordered items ship when available. Please note that option B may require additional shipping charges as multiple packages will be shipped.

Out of Stock Items

Our stock rapidly changes and we try and set in place a system that avoids purchasing items that become out of stock. However, if a product ordered is out of stock or on back-order, we will reach out and give you the chance to change or cancel your order. If you choose to cancel, you will be refunded in full.

Digital Items

If your order contains digital items you will receive a digital download link after checkout and it will also be sent to the email provided at checkout. 

Return Policy

All sales are final. However, if the item ordered is different from the item you receive, please contact us and we can arrange to get you the desired product.