Import Label

V/A - Shaolin Soul: Episode 2 (2xLP + CD)


2019 repress. Reissue of Shaolin Soul Episode 2, originally released in 2001. One of three LP reissues celebrating the 20th anniversary of 1998's Shaolin Soul Episode 1 (BEC 5543356). Legendary deep soul French compilations featuring many soul classics, sometimes forgotten, which have been sampled countless times by some of the biggest hip-hop acts. Available for the first time on vinyl + CD. Original packaging strictly reproduced. Cut from original masters. Double-LP comes in a gatefold sleeve; Includes CD.

Episode 2 features Syl Johnson, Ann Peebles, Baby Huey & The Baby Sitters, The Emotions, Black Ivory, Jackson 5, Al Green, Eddie Holman, Montana, Detroit Emeralds, Labi Siffre, Southside Movement, The Sweet Inspirations, Mad Lads, George Jackson, and Teddy Pendergrass.

1. Syl Johnson – I Hear The Love Chimes
2. Ann Peebles – I'm Gonna Tear Your Playhouse Down
3. Baby Huey – Hard Times
4. The Emotions – I Like It
5. Black Ivory – I Keep Asking You Questions
6. New Birth – Honey Bee
7. The Jackson 5 – Maybe Tomorrow
8. Syl Johnson – I Hate I Walked Away
9. Al Green – Something
10. Eddie Holman – It's Over
11. Montana – Warp Factor II (Edit)
12. Detroit Emeralds – You're Getting Too Smart
13. Labi Siffre – I Got The (Blues)
14. Southside Movement – I've Been Watching You
15. The Sweet Inspirations – Why Marry
16. The Mad Lads – Gone, The Promises Of Yesterday
17. George Jackson – Aretha, Sing One For Me
18. Teddy Pendergrass – Come Go With Me
19. Syl Johnson – That's Just My Luck
20. Al Green – Simply Beautiful