Delicious Vinyl

Yancey Boys (Prod. J Dilla) - Sunset Blvd. Instrumentals (2xLP)


Delicious Vinyl proudly releases Sunset Blvd, the new album from Yancey Boys, the group piloted by John “Illa J” Yancey and Frank Nitt. The dynamic new collection is built around previously unheard tracks created by Illa J’s brother: the late, great J Dilla (James Yancey). That fact makes it paramount that fans have access to the full instrumentals from the whole project in everyone’s favorite format, vinyl.

The road to Sunset Blvd has been paved with hard work and sweet inspiration. In 2008, Illa J began making music under the Yancey Boys banner, with the guidance of Delicious Vinyl Co-Founder Michael Ross and utilizing beats his elder brother left behind. Ross explains: “Putting together the first Yancey Boys album was a unique opportunity to keep it all in the family by giving young Illa J a jump off with unreleased beats of his late great brother. In addition, the record was a unique way to satiate Dilla's rabid fan base with a batch of undiscovered gems.”

“We’ve created an album that would make Dilla proud,” says Frank Nitt, who grew up with Dilla in Detroit. “But this isn’t a nostalgia trip: Dilla’s beats were so future-forward that they’re right on time in 2013.” And in 2013 that makes a vinyl offering of these beats a necessity. Sunset Blvd. Instrumentals contains full instrumental versions of the entire album, an album created specifically around these legacy beats.

Dilltro (feat. Dank)

Fisherman (feat. Vice, J Rocc, & Detroit Serious)

Lovin’ U (feat. Eric Roberson)

Go And Ask The DJ (feat. Guilty Simpson & J Rocc)

Jeep Volume (feat. T3 & C-Minus)

Flowers (feat. Talib Kweli, Niko Gray, & Rhettmatic)

Honk Ya Horn (feat. J. Pinder)

Slippin’ (feat. Early Mac)

Without Wings

Beautiful (feat. Posdnuos & Botni Applebum)

Quicksand (feat. Common & Dezi Paige)

Rock My World (feat. SlimKid3 & Niko Gray)

The Throwaway

This Evening